Utah Permit-less Concealed Carry Laws
This became law on May 5th 2021
This bill modifies provisions related to carrying a concealed firearm and suicide prevention.
This bill provides that an individual who is 21 years old or older, and may lawfully possess a firearm, may carry a concealed firearm in a public area without a permit; provides for the transfer of unused funds in the Concealed Weapons Account to the Division of Substance Abuse and Mental Health for suicide prevention efforts; and creates the Suicide Prevention and Education Fund within the division for suicide prevention efforts.
Utah Code Sections Affected:
53-5-707, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2019, Chapter 440
76-10-504, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2015, Chapter 406
76-10-505, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2009, Chapter 362
76-10-523, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2019, Chapters 39, 375, and 458
62A-15-1104, Utah Code Annotated 1953
What you CAN'T do without a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit
You MAY not be able to conceal carry your firearm into K-12 schools and State Universities.
(Federal Law will get you) Don't be the test case to find out.
You have to wait until you are 21 to exercise this right.
(Those between 18-21 WITH a provisional Permit can carry in Sate Universities.)
You have NO reciprocity with other States that you visit so you can't carry concealed there without a permit.
You MAY not be able to conceal carry your firearm in State Parks. Don't be the test case to find out.
You MAY not be able to conceal carry your firearm in National Parks. Don't be the test case to find out.
You CAN'T conceal carry your firearm on Indian Reservations.
The NICS background check fee of $7.50 will NOT be waived and will be added to your firearm costs.
And finally, you won't get the Utah Handgun Familiarity Course training that includes:
Firearm Suicide Warning Signs, Prevention discussion and What To Do
SECTION 1 BASIC HANDGUN SAFETY TRAINING
I. BASIC HANDGUN SAFETY TRAINING
II. HANDGUN PARTS AND OPERATION
IV. FUNDAMENTALS OF SHOOTING A HANDGUN DEMONSTRATION
V. SAFE HANDLING
SECTION 2 UTAH WEAPONS AND USE OF FORCE LAWS
I. UTAH CRIMINAL AND TRAFFIC CODE
II. U.S. FEDERAL FIREARMS REGULATIONS REFERENCE GUIDE,
TITLE 18, CHAPTER 44 23 (The Gun Control Act of 1968)
III. BCI ADMINISTRATIVE POLICY
IV. OTHER PRACTICAL AND LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS
V. THE LAW AND THE USE OF DEADLY FORCE
Having the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit will go a long way to keeping you from second guesing whether you are violating the law or not. Breaking some of these Federal laws will remove your firearm rights for life. Don't be the test case to find out.
Visit my Concealed Firearm Permit class page for more details
If you choose not to obtain a permit, you should at least consider attending my Firearm Safety Training Course.
Visit my Firearm Safety Training Course page for more details